Rome: La Citta d’Arte

Standard

I was two things in high school: an artist, and a procrastinator. 

Those two did not mix. You can pull an analysis paper out of nowhere at 11pm the night before it’s due, but you can’t really do the same to a painting. Not a good painting, at least.

Needless to say, my art grade could have been a little better mid-way through the semester. My art teacher was getting a little annoyed at my constant late or unfinished homework, and I was looking to get back in her good graces. Then- an opportunity. She was being bothered by a representative from a local university to get students to enter a logo design contest for the town’s Italian Cultural Society. I figured hey- I like logos, I’m learning Italian. I can enter this contest, and get some sort of credit for it.

So I entered, but didn’t win. I did, however, get the chance to go see a lecture at the university by a pretty famous type designer: Louise Fili. I’ve you haven’t heard of her, I guarantee she’s designed the packaging of something you’ve bought. Give it a look.

But her lecture inspired me. The passionate way she spoke about Italy, about how it influenced all her work and how Italian type was her favorite was incredible. It got me thinking about me coming to Italy, and the art and type I would see. 

So far, I’ve seen a lot. What I love the most about Rome is that there’s art everywhere. It’s not just in the museums. It’s in metro stations, on the side of trains, on buildings and facades.

20170113_102055.jpg

Lots of trains here are covered in spray paint- I love it.

There’s art in graffiti, in the logos, in the old buildings that are now cinemas or apartments. I think a lot of people, when they think of art, think of stuffy museums where it’s overwhelmingly quiet yet still somehow to full of other people to enjoy. (Not a total dig at museums- I love them and could spend days in a museum. But dear god, do they get boring sometimes). But nobody really goes straight to the accessible art, the street art. Maybe because it’s not locked away it doesn’t feel as if it has value. But I don’t think it makes it any less art. Some of the stuff I’ve seen has been incredible, from the message to the detail. And it’s not something you’d ever see, or even want to see, in a museum.

What I like about this street art in Rome is that Rome is a city that could easily let all of it’s art be from antiquity. Rome has enough statues and Renaissance paintings to keep every museum stocked for decades. Rome has the Vatican Museums, the Galleria Borghese, the Ara Pacis, every single church in the city….it goes on.

Yet they don’t. Modern art is flourishing, in so many museums. There’s the MAXXI, the Chiostro del Bramante, MACRO. You can see work by world-famous modern artists (me and a friend were able to see this stunning Yayoi Kusama installation All the Eternal Love I Have for Pumpkins at the Chiostro del Bramante), or work by lesser known, local artists. Even Temple itself has a gallery, showcasing local art.

20170122_111831.jpg

The pumpkin room- you only get 20 seconds inside, but it was still beautiful

20170122_105120

The reason we visited the Chiostro del Bramante- a little bit of Philly in Rome!

And I can’t forget the type. Following in the steps of Louise Fili herself, I’ve been photographing every cool sign and logo I see, and it’s been awesome. The colors, the font, is all so beautiful and Italian looking. I don’t know how else to describe it other than that. I can’t wait to take this pictures home and apply them to my schoolwork in advertising and branding. 

I think this is my favorite thing so far about Rome- how it’s a city that is both ancient and very, very modern, and you can tell that just from the art. From the way that there’s buildings here that are evidently old just covered in graffiti. I’m sure some would call it vandalism, but I just see it as a younger generation of Romans making this city theirs.

img_9083

About romaniamh

Hello! My name is Niamh, and I'm from Long Island, New York. I'm a junior majoring in Advertising and Film, with a minor in Italian. I started studying Italian at age eleven, after my mom returned home from a trip to Rome with stories of art, food, and culture that made me fall immediately in love with the country. And now that I'm able to through Temple, I'm finally going myself! At Temple, I've been able to fully submerge myself in my studies, winning Gold in the Collegiate ECHO Marketing Challenge, presenting original research at TURF-CreWS, and participating in a partnership between the American Advertising Federation and a non-profit called generationOn to build a campaign to promote volunteering. My passions include art and design; I tend to get a little more excited about good typography than most people would. In my free time, I like to read, attempt (and usually fail at) Food Network recipes, and practice my hand-lettering. And I love a good cup of tea. I'm most looking forward to Rome for the immersion in Italian culture. This is the language I've been learning, and city of been dreaming of, since I was in middle school, and I can't wait to jump right in.

Leave a Reply

