Final Thoughts

Standard

I’m back home! After an extremely early morning, delayed flight, excessive line at customs, and 3 hour train journey from New Jersey, it feels good to be back home with my family. I can’t help but think about my study abroad experience every single day. I find myself comparing each aspect of my life here to how it would’ve been back in Rome. The food is absolutely different, and it’s strange not having to translate everything before I speak. It’s even weird to see bigger cars, considering most cars in Italy were Smart Car size. Nevertheless, after finishing the experience of a lifetime, there are some major points that I think summarize not only the experience I had, but key facts I believe would be important for anyone to know before going on a month long study abroad journey to Italy (or any country for that matter).

Have a good credit/debit card – Keeping a debit card with you which has no ATM and no foreign transaction fees can be extremely useful. When my parents visited halfway through the program, my dad brought me a Charles Schwab Online Banking Debit Card which has no fees whatsoever, and is free and easy to acquire. It made getting cash stress free and easy!

Bring lots of snacks – Having snacks like bars and protein shakes was immensely useful on those mornings when I didn’t have time to grab my usual cornetto al ciocolatto (croissant filled with chocolate). It also helped keep me going through the day on long class excursions when we didn’t have time to stop for food.

Keep a strong bag and water bottle – I had a very large, sturdy water bottle which didn’t leak that I was able to fill up whenever I wanted at one of Rome’s many public water fountains. Since water at most restaurants in Italy wasn’t free, having my bottle with me wherever I went was extremely useful. Moreover, having a small but strong bag to keep some necessary items in (water, snacks, chargers, etc.) was invaluable to my survival around the country.

Backup your photos often – Most of us will use our phones as our main cameras, and as someone who doesn’t take pictures much even I took thousands of photos. I personally used OneDrive to automatically backup all the photos I took, but I know both iCloud and Google+ work really well also (and the latter is completely free). It was certainly relieving to be able to delete photos at the end of every day and having space to take hundreds more throughout the week.

Bring a reliable portable charger/battery pack – It’s 2016, and for many of us our phones are almost like lifelines (or at least mine is for me). I had a portable charger (read: battery pack) with me everywhere I went which carried one full charge for my phone. As I used my phone much more often in Italy than I do at home (directions, translations, transportation schedules, etc), I also found my phone dying faster than usual. My portable battery pack was a lifesaver many times, and the only thing I regret is not having one with a larger capacity!

Purchase cosmetics in advance – In Italy, things like soap, shampoo, and especially sun-screen are exponentially more expensive than they are in America, so being well prepared and having the right amount of these things is crucial. Moreover, most electronics are exponentially more expensive as well, so plan ahead!

I tried my best not to repeat tips that I gave in previous blog posts. Thinking back on the month I had, it’s certainly been one of the most memorable of my whole life. People are already having conversations with me about my trip. Unfortunately, when I tell them in return “you should study abroad!” most responses are in the realm of “I don’t have time” or “I don’t know how I could.” This has shown me that it is never to early to walk into Temple’s study abroad office, even if you’re 2% interested in studying abroad, and firing away any questions you have for the wonderful staff there. I’ve realized how truly privileged I am as a Temple student, having campuses in some of the most beautiful cities in the world (especially Rome). For anyone looking for the most fulfilling undergraduate experience, look no further than the Study Abroad Office and the opportunities they offer. I’m still beaming ear-to-ear just thinking about my experience. Thank you all for reading my blogs, I hope reading about my tips and experience helps you have a more enjoyable time with yours!

About keshavmanthainrome

Hey guys, I'm Keshav, a rising senior Neuroscience major at Temple. I'm originally from the Northern VA/Washington, DC area but I love everything about Philly, especially the food! On campus, I'm the captain of the Temple University Bhangra dance team, I was a co-founder of Temple's Health Occupation Students of America (HOSA) chapter, and I also help run Tashan, Philadelphia's biggest South-Asian dance competition right here on campus. I'm beyond excited to be spending a month studying in Rome, and I also plan on travelling the country to see as much as I can. I'm thrilled to be able to document the amazing experiences I'm going to have on my first study-abroad trip, and I hope all those reading can take away something positive from my blog posts!

Leave a Reply

