Spring 2015 Tara Benner Temple Rome

And How Does That Make You Feel?

When someone finds out you’re in college, it is almost guaranteed that they will ask what your major is, so I’ve had to respond to this question quite a bit over the past three years. For those of you who don’t know, I’m a Psychology major. I kind of just stumbled into it when I was a freshman, and happened to really like it, so I stuck with it. I cannot count how many times I’ve heard the question “and how does that make you feel?” after telling someone I study psychology, but I normally just laugh it off or give some sarcastic answer to go along with the over-used, witty response to my major.

This past week it’s seemed that I’ve been asked that same ‘sarcastic’ question multiple times, but now, it does not pertain to what my major in college is, but rather with the fact that I only have a few days left in Rome. All of my loved ones from back home are going on and on about how excited they are for me to come home and that they are counting down the days until my plane lands in the United States, but they also ask me how I feel now that my time in Rome is ending. Am I nervous? Am I excited?

Honestly, I’m not quite sure how I’m feeling. My emotions are one big whirlwind of being anxious about final grades, tired from traveling and studying, excited to finally see family and friends, and sad knowing that I’m leaving my new Temple Rome family. One emotion isn’t necessarily overcoming the others, but they’re all creating a mess of feelings within me that I’m just not ready to tackle.

If someone asked me a couple weeks ago, I would have said I’m 99% ready to come home. I had my fill of pasta, trying to speak in Italian, and was really missing everyone from home. I was ready to have my own room again, be back with my pets, and eat my gram’s home-cooked food. Don’t get me wrong, I still want all of these things, but now I realize that when I get all of these back, I’m losing everything else. Soon after returning to the States I’ll want nothing more than to be able to simply text Erin to walk downstairs to my apartment, or to be able to cook with my friends at our impromptu potluck dinners, casually take a walk to the Vatican or to experience the accomplished feeling of carrying out a successful conversation in Italian.

pragueAll of this will end in a matter of days, and I’m just not sure how that makes me feel.  As the weekend ends, I’ll fly to Philadelphia with practically everyone I’ve met at Temple Rome. We’ll tackle-hug our loved ones at the airport, and we’ll go our separate ways. Some I may see next year at Temple, but others I’ll never get to see again, all of the fun days in Italy just one amazing, magical memory.

fountain

Group First Gilato

Leave a Reply

